Altova Software-Lizenzmodelle

Altova bietet eine Reihe verschiedener Optionen für die Lizenzierung der Altova Desktop Developer-Produkte, Server Software-Produkte und Tools für die mobile Entwicklung. Auf dieser Seite können Sie sich über die verschiedenen verfügbaren Lizenzarten informieren und sich für das für Sie am besten geeignete Modell entscheiden.

Altova LicenseServer

Der Altova LicenseServer ist ein kostenloses Produkt für die zentrale Verwaltung Ihrer Altova Desktop- und Server Software-Lizenzen. Hier können Sie all Ihre Keycodes für alle Altova-Produkte verwalten, überwachen und bereitstellen. Sie haben bei Lizenz- und SMP-Abos sogar die Möglichkeit, Ihre automatisch verlängerten Lizenzen automatisch auf Ihrem LicensServer bereitzustellen.

Egal, ob Sie Virtual Machines verwenden oder Lizenzen in Ihrem Netzwerk verschieben, mit dem Altova LicenseServer erledigen Sie diese Dinge effizient über eine benutzerfreundliche webbasierte Verwaltungskonsole. Mit dem Altova LicenseServer wird die Einhaltung der Lizenzbestimmungen einfach. Er sendet vor anstehenden Lizenzverlängerungen sogar automatische E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen.

In den folgenden Fällen MUSS der Altova LicenseServer verwendet werden:

  • für Server Software-Produkte
  • Parallellizenzen
  • Named User-Lizenzen
  • in virtuellen Umgebungen

Für Einzelplatzlizenzen ist LicenseServer nicht erforderlich, wird jedoch aus praktischen Gründen empfohlen.

Installieren Sie als erstes den über einen Browser aufgerufenden Altova LicenseServer in Ihrem Netzwerk.

Desktop Developer Tools

Für Altova Desktop Developer Tools gibt es drei Lizenzarten. Diese sind im Folgenden beschrieben. Nähere Informationen finden Sie im Endbenutzer-Lizenzvertrag. Die Lizenzen werden in den Paketgrößen 1, 5, 10, 20 und 50 verkauft. Zu jedem Paket, beginnend mit 5 Lizenzen, werden Mengenrabatte angeboten.

Einzelplatzlizenzen

Einzelplatzlizenzen werden für die Anzahl der Rechner erworben, auf denen die Software installiert werden soll.

Bei Kauf einer Lizenz für 10 Einzelplätze darf die Software z.B. auf bis zu 10 Rechnern installiert und verwendet werden.

Parallellizenzen

Bei einer Parallellizenz darf die Anzahl der installierten Software-Kopien das 10-Fache der lizenzierten Anzahl betragen, vorausgesetzt, dass nur die lizenzierte Anzahl an Personen die Software gleichzeitig verwendet. So können Sie die Software z.B. bei Kauf einer Parallellizenz für 20 Benutzer auf bis zu 200 Rechnern installieren und auf 20 Rechnern gleichzeitig benutzen.

Alle Parallellizenzen müssen in Verbindung mit dem Altova LicenseServer verwendet werden.

Named User-Lizenzen

Sie dürfen die Software pro Named User-Lizenz auf bis zu 5 Rechnern oder Workstations installieren. Dadurch kann der Benutzer der Named User-Lizenz den Rechner nach Bedarf wechseln, vorausgesetzt er verwendet immer nur eine Instanz der Software gleichzeitig.

Named User-Lizenz für mehrere Benutzer

Unternehmen können einen einzigen Keycode erwerben, der mehrere Named User-Lizenzen enthält. Dadurch wird nicht für jede einzelne Named User-Lizenz ein separater Keycode benötigt. Auf dem LicenseServer weist der Administrator den einzelnen Named Usern (benannten Benutzern) entsprechend dem UPN (User Principal Name), der Benutzer (d.h. anhand ihrer jeweiligen Netzwerk-ID) eine Lizenz zu. Dies gilt vor allem für Benutzer, die in einer virtuellen Umgebung arbeiten (siehe unten).

Alle Named User-Lizenzen müssen in Verbindung mit dem Altova LicenseServer verwendet werden.

Virtuelle Umgebung

Altova Desktop Software darf in virtuellen Umgebungen verwendet werden. Dazu gehört die Verwendung auf einem Host-Terminalserver (z.B. Microsoft Terminal Server oder Citrix Metaframe), einem Anwendungsvirtualisierungsserver (z.B. Microsoft App-V, Citrix XenApp oder VMWare ThinApp) oder einer virtuellen Maschine.

Die Software darf mit allen Lizenzmodellen auf einem eigenständigen PC und/oder einer persistenten virtuellen Maschine (VM) verwendet werden. Außerdem darf die Software mit allen Lizenzmodellen in einer Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI) mit nicht dynamischen Netzwerkkonfigurationen, d.h. stabilen Hostnamen oder IP-Adressen, verwendet werden.

Wenn Sie die Software jedoch auf einem Terminal Server oder in einer nicht persistenten VDI-Umgebung oder in einer persistenten VDI-Umgebung, in der Hostnamen dynamisch zugewiesen werden, verwenden, müssen Sie Named User-Lizenzen mit dem entsprechenden LicenseServer verwenden.

Die gesamte Verwendung muss sich auf Ihr internes Netzwerk beschränken und zwar einzig und allein zu dem Zweck, einzelnen Benutzern innerhalb Ihres Unternehmens den Zugriff auf die Software bzw. deren Verwendung zu ermöglichen.

Für die Verwendung von Altova-Software in einer virtuellen Umgebung ist der Altova LicenseServer erforderlich.

Lizenz-Pool

Für alle Parallellizenzen und Named User-Lizenzen muss der Altova LicenseServer verwendet werden. Auch Einzelplatzlizenzen können mit dem LicenseServer verwaltet werden.

Parallellizenzen und Einzelplatzlizenzen können in einer Gruppe auf demselben Altova LicenseServer registriert werden, während Named User-Lizenzen auf einem separaten Altova LicenseServer verwendet werden müssen, da Parallellizenzen und Einzelplatzlizenzen pro Rechner und Named User-Lizenzen pro Benutzer zugewiesen werden.

Falls Sie bestehende Lizenzen haben, die Sie in ein anderes Lizenzmodell konvertieren möchten, z.B. wenn sich Ihre Infrastruktur von eigenständigen PCs in dynamisch zugewiesene VMs ändert, wenden Sie sich bitte an das Altova Sales Team.

Bitte beachten Sie: Die Lizenzverwaltung mit LicenseServer steht für Altova Desktop Developer Tools ab Version 2017 zur Verfügung.

Server Software-Produkte

Altova Server-Produkte wie MobileTogether Server, FlowForce Server, RaptorXML Server, MapForce Server und StyleVision Server werden, wie unten beschrieben, pro Server lizenziert. Nähere Informationen dazu finden Sie im Altova Server Software License Agreement und im Altova MobileTogether Server Software License Agreement. Lizenzen gibt es für Server mit 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24 und 32 Kernen, wobei ab 2 Lizenzen Rabatte angeboten werden.

Jährliche Lizenzen pro Server

Altova Server-Produkte werden pro Jahr, pro Server und auf Basis der Anzahl der auf dem Rechner verfügbaren Prozessorkerne lizenziert. Für jeden Server muss ein separater Lizenz-Keycode erworben werden. Die Anzahl der lizenzierten Prozessorkerne muss größer oder gleich der Anzahl der auf dem Server verfügbaren Prozessorkerne sein, unabhängig davon, ob es sich um einen physischen oder virtuellen Server handelt. Wenn ein Server z.B. 8 Prozessorkerne hat, müssen Sie eine Lizenz für mindestens 8 Prozessorkerne erwerben.

Wenn Sie einen Computer Server mit zahlreichen CPU-Kernen verwenden, aber nur geringe Datenmengen verarbeiten müssen, können Sie eine virtuelle Maschine erstellen, dieser eine geringere Anzahl an Kernen zuweisen und eine Lizenz für diese Anzahl erwerben. In diesem Fall ist die Verarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit natürlich geringer als bei Verwendung aller auf dem Server verfügbaren Kerne.

Wenn Sie ein Server-Produkt im Single-Thread-Modus ausführen und die Parallelverarbeitung deaktivieren möchten, können Sie eine Lizenz für 1 Kern erwerben und das lizenzierte Server-Produkt im Single-Thread-Modus auf einem Mehrkernserver ausführen.

Altova Server-Produkte behandeln Hyper-Threading-Kerne bei der Kontingentierung von Kernen nicht als zwei separate Kerne. Gezählt wird nur die wirkliche Anzahl an Kernen in einem physischen Rechner oder die Anzahl der virtuellen Kerne, die einer VM zugewiesen sind.

Altova Server Software-Produkte müssen in Verbindung mit einem Altova LicenseServer verwendet werden.

Die Informationen auf dieser Seite dienen nur als Beispiel und zu Erklärungszwecken. Bei widersprüchlichen Informationen gelten die ausführlichen Definitionen, Spezifikationen und Lizenzdefinitionen aus dem tatsächlichen Lizenzvertrag.

Altova Software Licensing Models

Altova offers various options for licensing its desktop developer, mobile development, and server software products. Please use this page to learn about the different types of licenses available and choose the type that best suits your needs.

Altova LicenseServer

The Altova LicenseServer is a free product that provides centralized management for your Altova desktop and server software licenses. Here you can manage, track, and deploy all your key codes for Altova products with ease. In fact, for license and SMP subscriptions, you can opt to have your auto-renewed licenses automatically deployed to your LicenseServer.

Whether you are virtualizing your machines or moving licenses across your network, the Altova LicenseServer lets you manage tasks efficiently from an easy-to-use, web-based administrator console. The Altova LicenseServer makes license compliance easy. It even sends automated emails to alert you of upcoming renewal deadlines.

Use of the Altova LicenseServer is required for:

  • Server software licenses
  • Concurrent User licenses
  • Named User licenses
  • Virtualized environments

LicenseServer is not required for Installed User licenses; however, it is recommended for convenience.

To get started, all you need to do is install the Altova LicenseServer on your network, accessed via a browser.

License Type for Key CodesPermitted usage, using 10 licenses as an exampleApplicable scenarioStandalone PCVMsTerminal ServerPersistent VDINon-Persistent VDILicense Server Required?
Installed User10 licenses permits installation and use on 10 unique machines.

Altova LicenseServer counts machines.
Choose when every user needs to access the software very often and needs a license for a specific machine.YesYes, with LicenseServerNoYes, with LicenseServerNoYes, in virtualized environments. Recommended in other scenarios.
Concurrent UserConcurrent User 10 licenses permits 10 concurrent uses (use at same time) and permits installation on 100 unique machines.

Altova LicenseServer counts machines.
Choose when many users access the software, but most users do not need to access it at once. License applies to specific machines.YesYesNoYesNoYes, in all environments
Named User10 licenses permits 10 specifically named individual users to each use 1 license on any machine.

Altova LicenseServer counts users.
Choose for software use in virtual environments in which users need to associate a license with a UPN such as a network login (rather than a specific machine).

LicenseServer admin can assign each license to a specific user.
YesYesYesYesYesYes, with all multi-user key codes and in all virtualized environments

Guide to Choosing Desktop License Models for Multiple Users

Do you need to deploy licenses in a non-persistent VDI environment or one in which users access the software via a terminal server?
YES
NO
Choose Named User license(s). Assign each license to a UPN rather than a specific machine.
Do most users need access to the software at the same time?
YES
NO
Choose Installed User license(s). Purchase based on the number of computers the software will be installed on.
Choose Concurrent User license(s). Purchase based on how many users need to use the software at the same time. Install the software on up to 10 times the licensed number of computers, provided that only the licensed number of computers use the software at once.

Desktop Developer Tools

There are three license types available for Altova desktop developer tools. These are described below, and you can find more information in the End User License Agreement. Licenses are sold in package sizes of 1, 5, 10, 20, and 50. Built-in price breaks occur in each package size, starting at 5.

Installed User Licenses

Installed User licenses are purchased per number of computers on which you would like to install the software.

For example, if you purchase a 10 Installed User license, you may install and use the software on up to 10 computers.

Concurrent User Licenses

A Concurrent User license allows you to install the software on up to 10 times the license number, provided that only the licensed number of people use the software at the same time. For example, if you purchase a 20 Concurrent User license, you may install the software on up to 200 computers and use it on up to 20 computers at the same time.

All Concurrent User licenses must be used in conjunction with the Altova LicenseServer.

Named User Licenses

For each Named User license, you may install the software on up to 5 computers or workstations. This allows the user to switch from one computer to the other as necessary, provided that only one instance of the software will be used by the Named User at a time.

Multi-user Named License

Enterprises may purchase a single key code that will hold multiple Named User licenses. This saves you from having a separate key code for each Named User. Within the LicenseServer, the administrator assigns the individual named user a license according the user’s UPN (user principal name), i.e., his or her network ID. This is especially applicable for users working in a virtual environment (see below).

All Named User licenses must be used in conjunction with the Altova LicenseServer.

Virtual Environment

You may use Altova desktop software in virtual environments. These include a host terminal server (e.g., Microsoft Terminal Server or Citrix Metaframe), application virtualization server (e.g., Microsoft App-V, Citrix XenApp, or VMWare ThinApp), or virtual machine environment.

You may use the software on a stand-alone personal computer and/or a persistent virtual machine (VM) with all license models. It is also permitted to use the software in a virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) with non-dynamic network configurations, i.e., stable hostnames or IP addresses, with all license models.

However, if you use the software on a terminal server or non-persistent VDI environment, or if your persistent VDI assigns dynamic hostnames, then you must use Named User licenses with the applicable Altova LicenseServer.

All usage shall be within your internal network for the sole and exclusive purpose of permitting individual users within your organization to access and use the software.

Use of Altova software in a virtual environment requires use of the Altova LicenseServer.

License Pool

For all Concurrent User and Named User licenses, you must use the Altova LicenseServer, and you may also use the LicenseServer to manage Installed User licenses.

Concurrent User and Installed User licenses may be grouped on the same Altova LicenseServer, while Named User licenses must be used on a separate Altova LicenseServer. This is because Concurrent and Installed User licenses are allocated per machine, while Named User licenses are allocated per user.

If you have existing licenses that you wish to convert to a different license model, for instance, if your infrastructure changes from standalone personal computers to dynamically assigned VMs, please contact the Altova Sales Team.

Please note: Management via LicenseServer is available when running Altova desktop developer tools Version 2017 or higher.

Server Software Products

Altova server products including MobileTogether Server, FlowForce Server, RaptorXML Server, MapForce Server, and StyleVision Server are licensed per server, as described below. More information is available in the Altova Server Software License Agreement and Altova MobileTogether Server Software License Agreement. Licenses are sold for 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24, and 32-core servers, with built in price breaks starting at 2.

Annual Per Server Licenses

Altova server products are licensed per year, per server, based on the number of cores available on the machine. You must obtain a separate license key code for each server. The number of cores licensed must be greater than or equal to the number of cores available on the server, whether it's a physical or virtual machine. For example, if a server has 8 cores, you must purchase at least an 8-core license.

If you are using a computer server with a large number of CPU cores but only have a low volume of data to process, you may also create a virtual machine that is allocated a smaller number of cores, and then purchase a license for that number. Such a deployment, of course, will have less processing speed than if all available cores on the server were utilized.

In addition, if you wish to run a server product in single-thread mode, i.e., disable parallel execution, you may purchase a 1-core license and run the licensed server product in single-thread execution mode on a server with multiple cores.

When it comes to allocating cores, Altova server products do not treat hyper-threading cores as two separate cores. Only the real number of cores in a physical machine, or the number of virtual cores assigned to a VM, is counted.

Altova server software product must be used in conjunction with an Altova LicenseServer.

The information on this page is provided for illustrative and explanation purposes only. In case of a conflict, the detailed definitions, specifications, and license grants in the actual license agreements govern.