Logiciel 64-bit

Altova offre, à partir de la Version 2010 release 2, les versions 32-bit et 64-bit de toutes les applications contenues dans les Éditions Enterprise et Professional d'Altova MissionKit, et dans les Éditions Enterprise d'Altova Authentic. Cette page fournit des informations importantes concernant les avantages, les différences et les dépendances du logiciel 64-bit que vous devriez prendre en compte avant de vous décider pour une version 64-bit ou 32-bit.

Pourquoi 64-bit ?

Nombre d'environnements modernes de développement de logiciel et de traitement des données se heurtent à une limitation de mémoire intégrée. Les versions actuelles et précédentes 32-bit de Microsoft Windows ne peuvent attribuer qu'un maximum de 2 GO de mémoire à chaque processus d'exécution, quelle que soit la mémoire réelle ou virtuelle disponible sur une machine particulière. Transposé dans le vrai monde du développement XML, cela signifie que les fichiers XML plus grands que 100 à 200 MO (selon la complexité) ne peuvent pas être ouverts.

Un système 64-bit n'est pas assujetti à la même limitation de mémoire. Un processeur 64-bit a une taille maximum de mémoire adressable théorique si importante qu'elle est mesurée en plusieurs pétaoctets (1 pétaoctet = 1 million de gigaoctets). Actuellement, les versions 64-bit de Microsoft Windows 7 prennent en charge jusqu'à 192 GO de mémoire installée. En pratique, la taille maximum d'un fichier XML qu'un utilisateur d'application 64-bit sera capable de traiter n'est limitée que par la quantité de mémoire physique installée.

La capture d'écran ci-dessous montre un fichier de 2,7 GO ouvert dans la version 64-bit de XMLSpy. Ce fichier XML contient le Wikipédia XML feed et contient plus de 35 millions de lignes.

Un très grand fichier, ouvert pour être édité dans la version 64-bit de XMLSpy

(Même si la mémoire physique n'est pas suffisante, de très grands fichiers peuvent être traités par des systèmes 64-bit en utilisant une mémoire virtuelle, bien qu'à une vitesse beaucoup plus lente.)

De plus, des fichiers inférieurs à 100 MO peuvent être traités de manière plus efficace par un système 64-bit comportant une mémoire physique plus importante, parce que le système peut maintenir un cache beaucoup plus important de données de disque dur en mémoire.

Questions fréquemment posées concernant le logiciel 64-bit

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez les réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées (FAQ) concernant les logiciels 32-bit et 64-bit.

  • Une application de 32-bit fonctionnera-t-elle sur une version 64-bit de Windows ?

    Oui. Veuillez noter que la version Altova 2010 est la première version compatible avec Windows 7.

  • Une application de 64-bit fonctionnera-t-elle sur une version 32-bit de Windows ?

    Non.

  • Comment puis-je savoir si mon système fonctionne sur une version 32-bit ou 64-bit de Windows ?

    Ouvrir le Panneau de configuration Windows, choisir Affichage classique (Vista) ou Icônes (Windows 7), puis ouvrir l'icône Système. La ligne Type du système spécifiera soit « Système d'exploitation 32-bit » soit « Système d'exploitation 64-bit ».

  • Mon système exécute une version 64-bit de Windows. Devrais-je utiliser des applications de 32-bit ou de 64-bit ?

    Ça dépend. Veuillez tout d'abord consulter les informations supplémentaires détaillées ci-dessous.

Options d'installation

Depuis la version 2010 release 2, les codes-clé valides pour les applications Altova Enterprise et Professional Editions prennent en charge aussi bien les versions 32-bit que 64-bit. Cette fonction permet une flexibilité importante :

  • Mise à niveau – Un utilisateur exécutant un système 32-bit devra installer des versions 32-bit des logiciels Altova. Plus tard, si l'utilisateur passe à un poste de travail 64-bit, la version 32-bit peut être désinstallée de l'ancien système et le même code-clé permet l'installation de la version 64-bit sur la nouvelle machine 64-bit.
  • Environnement mixtes – Un code multi-utilisateur fonctionne efficacement dans des environnements mixtes. Par exemple, un code-clé pour 10 utilisateurs peut prendre en charge certains utilisateurs exécutant la version 32-bit et d'autres la version 64-bit dans toute combinaison requise par le groupe de travail.
  • Exigences mixtes – Un utilisateur individuel utilisant actuellement un système 64-bit peut installer les versions 32-bit et 64-bit des applications Altova sur le même poste de travail en utilisant un seul code-clé valide.
  • Cela signifie qu'un développeur peut installer quelques-unes ou toutes les applications dans tout le paquet Altova MissionKit aussi bien dans les versions 32-bit que 64-bit et choisir la version appropriée pour chaque tâche. Par exemple, la version 32-bit de MapForce peut être nécessaire pour se connecter à une base de données en raison d'une limitation de pilote. Plus tard dans la journée, le développeur pourrait lancer la version 64-bit de XMLSpy pour travailler avec un très grand fichier XML.
  • Pour éviter toute confusion, les versions 64-bit de chaque application Altova sont identifiées dans le nom du raccourci de bureau, la barre de statut en bas de la fenêtre d'application et dans la fenêtre d'accueil À propos.
  • La capture d'écran ci-dessous montre les versions 64-bit de l'écran d'accueil et de la barre de statut de XMLSpy.
Splash screen et barre de statut pour la version XMLSpy 64-bit

Problèmes inhérents au logiciel 64-bit :

Exigences de mémoire

Une application 64-bit nécessite plus de mémoire pour ouvrir un fichier particulier qu'une application 32-bit parce que les tailles d'adresse des pointeurs de mémoire et les autres structures sont automatiquement plus grandes. On peut estimer pour les fichiers XML que la consommation de mémoire croît d'env. 50 à 60%. Cela signifie qu'un utilisateur doit disposer d'un minimum de 4 GO de mémoire pour profiter d'une application 64-bit.

Connectivité à la base de données

En général, une application de 64-bit nécessite un pilote 64-bit pour une connexion à la base de données. Quelques informations spécifiques supplémentaires :

  • ODBC – Seules les versions 64-bit des pilotes ODBC peuvent être utilisées avec des applications 64-bit. Les utilisateurs peuvent vérifier quels pilotes ODBC sont installés sur un ordinateur spécifique en utilisant l'outil de configuration ODBC. Une machine 64-bit dispose de deux outils de configuration de pilote. Tous deux sont nommés “odbcad32.exe” mais se trouvent dans des dossiers différents :
  • Windows\system32\odbcad32.exe gère des versions 64-bit des pilotes ODBC
  • Windows\sysWOW64\odbcad32.exe gère leurs homologues 32-bit
  • Autres bases de données – Certaines bases de données ne disposent pas encore d'un pilote 64-bit. D'autres rencontrent des problèmes d'installation ou ne sont pas encore compatibles avec Windows 7. Veuillez vous référer aux sites Internet des développeurs des bases de données pour plus d'informations.

Utiliser les applications 64-bit avec les fichiers Microsoft Access Database

Le moteur de base de données Microsoft Jet remonte à Windows 95 et était le moteur de base de données original sous-jacent pour les fichiers *.mdb créés avec Microsoft Access. Les versions de Jet sont contenues dans toutes les éditions de Microsoft Windows jusqu'à Windows 7 et sont utilisées pour des applications 32-bit pour se connecter aux bases de données Access contenus dans les fichiers *.mdb.

Disponible depuis Office 2007, Microsoft Access a obtenu un nouveau format de fichier avec l'extension de fichier *.accdb et des fonctions supplémentaires. Les fichiers de base de données Access 2007 (et suivants) sont pris en charge par le nouveau pilote Microsoft ACE (Access Database Engine).

Le moteur de base de données Microsoft Jet est considéré être un produit obsolète. Bien qu'il soit toujours contenu dans Windows 7, aucun plan n'a été annoncé pour le transférer à une version 64-bit. Le moteur de base de données Microsoft ACE est disponible dans une version pour les systèmes 64-bit et peut être téléchargé directement (pilote uniquement) sous :

Le moteur de base de données Microsoft ACE peut aussi être téléchargé en tant que partie intégrante de la version x64 de Microsoft Office 2010 sous :

Actuellement, le pilote ACE 64-bit est malheureusement limité. Il ne peut pas coexister avec les versions 32-bit de Microsoft Office.

Les versions 64-bit des applications Altova MissionKit exigent actuellement que le pilote x64 Microsoft ACE ouvre les bases de données Access, que l'extension de fichier soit *.mdb ou *.accdb.

Les fichiers existants créées avec les versions 32-bit des applications Altova, comme les mappages MapForce ou les feuilles de style StyleVision peuvent contenir des informations de connexion qui spécifient le fournisseur 32-bit Jet OLEDB (Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0). Les applications Altova 64-bit convertiront automatiquement ces fichiers plus anciens dans les connexions à pilote ACE (Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0). Il ne reste plus aux utilisateurs qu'à installer le pilote 64-bit ACE, comme décrit ci-dessus.

Système de Contrôle de source

Altova a mis en place l'interface Microsoft Source Code Control (MSSCCI) v1.1 – v1.3 dans XMLSpy et UModel et a testé la prise en charge avec les nombreux systèmes de contrôle populaires. De plus, DiffDog peut être facilement configuré pour servir en tant qu'outil par défaut de diff/fusion lorsqu'un système de gestion de versions autonome est utilisé.

Étant donné que la plupart des clients SCC ne possèdent pas de versions 64-bit, Altova fournit un logiciel SCC de passerelle spécial qui permet aux versions 64-bit des applications Altova d'utiliser des clients 32-bit SCC. Cette passerelle est parfaitement intégrée et fonctionne de manière transparente depuis la perspective de l'utilisateur à chaque fois qu'un client SCC 64-bit n'est pas disponible.

Plug-ins de navigateur

Un navigateur 32-bit nécessite des plug-ins 32-bit et un navigateur 64-bit nécessite des plug-ins 64-bit. Actuellement, seul Internet Explorer est disponible dans les deux versions, c'est pourquoi les plug-ins de navigateur Altova Authentic pour Internet Explorer sont aussi disponibles dans les versions 32-bit et 64-bit. FireFox est actuellement uniquement disponible en tant qu'application 32-bit. Un code HTML échantillon est publié dans la documentation pour le plug-in de navigateur Authentic qui montre comment intégrer des instructions dans une page HTML pour télécharger et installer la version correcte du plug-in de navigateur Authentic.

Intégration Visual Studio et Eclipse

Visual Studio est actuellement uniquement disponible en tant qu'application 32-bit. C'est pourquoi les Packs d'intégration Altova pour Visual Studio sont uniquement disponibles dans les versions 32-bit.

Puisque Visual Studio est uniquement disponible dans une version 32-bit, vous devez installer la version 32-bit de XMLSpy, MapForce, StyleVision, UModel ou Authentic pour une exécution dans Visual Studio pour une intégration impeccable dans le flux de travail de l'IDE. Vous devez aussi installer la version 32-bit du Pack d'intégration correspondant, que vous disposiez d'une version 32-bit ou 64-bit de Windows.

Eclipse est disponible en tant qu'application 32-bit et 64-bit et nécessite un plug-in correspondant. Depuis la publication de la Version 2007, Altova a offert des Packs d'intégration 32-bit pour Eclipse et offre actuellement des composants d'intégration pour les versions 32-bit et 64-bit.

Intégration de Microsoft Word

Microsoft Word est disponible dans des versions 32-bit et 64-bit. Altova StyleVision rend et affiche des rapports avancés dans Microsoft Word 2007+ (OOXML) et des formats .rtf, entre autre. Altova DiffDog comprend une fonction de comparaison spéciale pour des documents à partir de Microsoft Word 2003.

Pour afficher les documents Word soit dans StyleVision ou DiffDog, la version de Microsoft Word affichée sur son écran d'aide doit correspondre à la version de l'outil Altova installé. En d'autre termes, si vous utilisez Microsoft Word 32-bit, vous devez utiliser une version 32-bit de StyleVision ou de DiffDog. Si vous utilisez Microsoft Word 64-bit, vous devez utiliser un outils Altova 64-bit.

Interfaces ActiveX

Une interface ActiveX peut intégrer l'interface utilisateur et les fonctions d'une application Altova dans votre propre application. Si votre application est une application 32-bit, vous devrez installer une version 32-bit du logiciel Altova. Une version 64-bit du logiciel Altova est requise pour votre application 64-bit.

Interfaces COM

Les interfaces COM automatisent les fonctions des applications Altova par le biais de l'API sans un intégration de l'interface utilisateur. Par défaut, Windows rendra une COM 32-bit visible à une application 32-bit et une COM 64-bit à une application 64-bit. Une utilisation mixte est possible mais nécessite un travail supplémentaire : si, par exemple, vous avez uniquement installé une version 64-bit du logiciel Altova et que vous souhaitez l'utiliser depuis votre application 32-bit, veuillez procéder comme suit :

se connecter à une application :
CComPtr <IUnknown >ipApplication;
HRESULT hRes;
DWORD dwClsContext = CLSCTX_ALL;
hRes = ::CoCreateInstance( m_clsidOfApplication, NULL, dwClsContext, IID_IUnknown,
(void **)&ipApplication.p );
if ( !SUCCEEDED( hRes ) )
{
#if defined( _WIN64 )
dwClsContext |= CLSCTX_ACTIVATE_32_BIT_SERVER,
#else // _WIN64
dwClsContext |= CLSCTX_ACTIVATE_64_BIT_SERVER,
#endif // _WIN64
hRes = ::CoCreateInstance( m_clsidOfApplication, NULL, dwClsContext, IID_IUnknown,
(void **)&ipApplication.p );
}
if ( SUCCEEDED( hRes ) )
{
// some code
...
}
open CLSID in correct view:
LONG OpenCLSID( LPCTSTR strCLSID, REGSAM samDesired, hObjCLSIDKey )
{
HKEY hCLSIDKey;
LONG rc = RegOpenKeyEx( HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT,_T("CLSID"), 0, samDesired, &hCLSIDKey );
if ( rc == ERROR_SUCCESS )
{
LONG lRet = RegOpenKeyEx( hCLSIDKey, strCLSID, 0, samDesired, &hObjCLSIDKey );
RegCloseKey(hCLSIDKey);
if ( lRet != ERROR_SUCCESS && samDesired == KEY_READ )
{
#if defined( _WIN64 )
samDesired |= KEY_WOW64_32KEY;
#else // _WIN64
samDesired |= KEY_WOW64_64KEY;
#endif // _WIN64
// try other view
rc = OpenCLSID( strCLSID, samDesired, hObjCLSIDKey );
}
}
return rc;
}
...
HKEY hObjCLSIDKey;
if ( OpenCLSID( <a class id >, KEY_READ, hObjCLSIDKey ) == ERROR_SUCCESS )
{
// one can now open subkeys using this key as parent
...
}

Veuillez noter que lorsqu'une application Altova en appelle une autre, elle tentera d'appeler une version correspondante, mais si la version correspondante n'est pas trouvée, l'autre version sera appelée, si elle est disponible. Cela signifie, par exemple que si vous avez installé une version 64-bit de MapForce et une version 32-bit de XMLSpy, elles pourront s'appeler mutuellement pour éditer un XML Schema référencé dans un mappage MapForce dans XMLSpy, ou pour exécuter une transformation MapForce dans le cadre d'un projet XMLSpy.

Customers Say

“I have learned that there is no substitute for quality tools. And truly, your MissionKit suite is a quality tool, easily the single best resource for enterprise development that I have ever encountered, and in itself a prime example of how software should be written. My sincere compliments on an excellent product.”

Thomas D. Blersch Senior Software Engineer, Exeter Government Services LLC

64-bit Software
Beginning with Version 2010 release 2, Altova offers both 32- and 64-bit versions of all applications included in Enterprise and Professional Editions of the Altova MissionKit, and in Enterprise Editions of Altova Authentic. This page provides important information about the advantages, differences, and dependencies of 64-bit software that you should consider as you decide whether a 64-bit or 32-bit version is best for your needs.

Why 64-bits?

Many modern software development and data processing environments are running up against a built-in memory limitation. Current and previous 32-bit versions of Microsoft Windows can only allocate a maximum of 2 GB of memory to each running process, regardless how much real or virtual memory is available on a particular machine. Translated to the real world of XML development, this means XML files larger than 100 to 200 MB (depending on complexity) can not be opened at all.
A 64-bit system is not subject to the same memory limitation. A 64-bit processor has a theoretical maximum addressable memory size so large it is measured in multiple petabytes (1 petabyte = 1 million gigabytes). Currently, 64-bit versions of Microsoft Windows 7 support up to 192 GB of installed memory. In practice, the maximum size XML file an individual user of a 64-bit application will be able to process is limited only by the amount of installed physical memory.
The screenshot below shows a 2.7GB file open in the 64-bit version of XMLSpy. This XML file contains the Wikipedia abstract XML feed and is over 35 million lines long.
A very large file open for editing in the 64-bit version of XMLSpy
(Even without enough physical memory, very large files can be processed by 64-bit systems using virtual memory, although significantly more slowly.)
Additionally, files smaller than 100 MB can be processed more efficiently by a 64-bit system that has a large amount of physical memory, because the system can maintain a much larger cache of hard disk data in memory.

Frequently Asked Questions about 64-bit Software

Below are answers to the most frequently asked questions (FAQ) about 32-bit vs. 64-bit software.
  • Will a 32-bit application run on a 64-bit version of Windows?
    Yes. Be aware, however, that Altova version 2010 is the earliest release compatible with Windows 7.
  • Will a 64-bit application run on a 32-bit version of Windows?
    No.
  • How can I tell if my system is running a 32 or 64-bit version of Windows?
    Open the Windows Control Panel, Select Classic View (Vista) or Icons (Windows 7), then open the System icon. The line labeled System type will specify either “32-bit Operating System” or “64-bit Operating System.”
  • My system is running a 64-bit version of Windows. Should I use 32-bit or 64-bit software applications?
    It depends. You will want to consider the additional information explained in detail below.

Installation Options

Starting with version 2010 release 2, valid keycodes for Enterprise and Professional Editions of Altova applications support both 32-bit and 64-bit versions. This feature enables flexibility in several important ways:
  • Upgrade path – A user currently running a 32-bit system must install 32-bit versions of Altova software. Later on, when the user upgrades to a 64-bit workstation, the 32-bit version can be uninstalled from the old system and the same keycode permits installation of the 64-bit version on the new 64-bit machine.
  • Mixed environments – A multi-user keycode works effectively in mixed environments. For instance, a 10-user keycode can support some users running the 32-bit version and others running the 64-bit version, in any combination required by the workgroup.
  • Mixed requirements – An individual user currently running a 64-bit system can install the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Altova applications on the same workstation, using a single valid keycode.
  • This means a developer can install any or all the applications in the entire Altova MissionKit bundle in both 32-bit and 64-bit versions and choose the appropriate version for each task. For instance, the 32-bit version of MapForce may be required to connect to a database due to a driver limitation. Later that day, the developer could launch the 64-bit version of XMLSpy to work with a very large XML file.
  • To avoid confusion, 64-bit versions of each Altova application are identified in the desktop shortcut name, the Status Bar at the bottom of the application window, and in the About splash window.
  • The screenshot below shows the and 64-bit versions of the XMLSpy splash screen and Status Bar.
Splash screen and status Bar for XMLSpy 64-bit version

Issues Inherent to 64-bit Software:

Memory Requirements

A 64-bit application will require more memory to open any particular file than a 32-bit application, because the address sizes of memory pointers and other structures automatically become larger. A rule of thumb for XML files is that memory consumption grows by about 50 to 60%. This means a user should have a minimum of 4 GB of memory installed to benefit from a 64-bit application.

Connectivity to Databases

In general, a 64-bit application requires a 64-bit driver for database connection. Here are some more specific concerns:
  • ODBC – Only 64-bit versions of ODBC drivers can be used with 64-bit applications. Users can find out what ODBC drivers are installed on a particular machine by using the ODBC configuration tool. There are two driver configuration tools on a 64-bit machine. Both are confusingly named “odbcad32.exe” but are located in different folders:
  • Windows\system32\odbcad32.exe manages 64-bit versions of ODBC drivers
  • Windows\sysWOW64\odbcad32.exe manages their 32-bit counterparts
  • Other databases – Some databases do not yet have a 64-bit driver. Others have driver installation issues, or are not yet compatible with Windows 7. Please refer to the individual database developer Web sites for more information.

Using 64-bit Applications with Microsoft Access Database Files

The Microsoft Jet database engine dates back to Windows 95 or earlier and was the original underlying database engine for *.mdb files created with Microsoft Access. Versions of Jet are contained in all editions of Microsoft Windows through Windows 7 and are used by 32-bit applications to connect to Access databases contained in *.mdb files.
Beginning in Office 2007, Microsoft Access gained a new file format with file extension *.accdb and additional functionality. Access 2007 (and later) database files are supported by the new Microsoft ACE (Access Database Engine) driver.
The Microsoft Jet database engine is considered a deprecated product. Although it is still contained in Windows 7, no plans have been announced for it to be ported to a 64-bit version. The Microsoft ACE database engine is available in a version for 64-bit systems and can be downloaded directly (driver only) at:
The Microsoft ACE database engine can also be downloaded as part of the x64 version of Microsoft Office 2010 at:
There is currently an unfortunate limitation of the 64-bit ACE driver – it cannot co-exist with 32-bit versions of Microsoft Office.
The 64-bit versions of Altova MissionKit applications currently require the x64 Microsoft ACE driver to open Access databases, regardless of whether the file extension is *.mdb or *.accdb.
Existing files created with 32-bit versions of Altova applications, such as MapForce mappings or StyleVision stylesheets, may contain connection information that specifies the 32-bit Jet OLEDB provider (Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0). Altova 64-bit applications will automatically convert these older files to ACE driven connections (Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0). Users only need to install the 64-bit ACE driver, as described above.

Source Control Systems

Altova has implemented the Microsoft Source Code Control Interface (MSSCCI) v1.1 – v1.3 in XMLSpy and UModel and has tested support with the many popular revision control systems. In addition, DiffDog can easily be configured to serve as the default diff/merge tool when a stand-alone versioning system is used.
Because most SCC clients do not have 64-bit versions, Altova delivers special SCC bridge software that allows 64-bit versions of Altova applications to use SCC 32-bit clients. This bridge is tightly integrated and works transparently from user’s perspective whenever a 64-bit SCC client is not available.

Browser Plugins

A 32-bit browser requires 32-bit plug-ins and a 64-bit browser requires 64-bit plug-ins. Currently only Internet Explorer is available in both versions, therefore Altova Authentic Browser Plug-ins for Internet Explorer are also available in both 32 and 64-bit versions. FireFox is currently only available as a 32-bit application. Sample HTML code is published in the documentation for the Authentic Browser Plug-in that shows how to embed instructions in an HTML page to download and install the correct version of the Authentic Browser Plug-in.

Visual Studio and Eclipse Integration

Visual Studio is only available as a 32-bit application. Therefore Altova Integration Packages for Visual Studio are also only available in 32-bit versions.
Since Visual Studio is only available in a 32-bit version, you must install the 32-bit version of XMLSpy, MapForce, StyleVision, UModel, or Authentic to run inside Visual Studio for seamless integration into the workflow of the IDE. You must also install the 32-bit version of the corresponding Integration Package, regardless whether you have a 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows.
Eclipse is available as a 32-bit and a 64-bit application and requires a corresponding plug-in. Altova has offered 32-bit Eclipse Integration Packages for Eclipse since the release of Version 2007, and currently offers integration components for both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions.

Microsoft Word Integration

Microsoft Word is available in 32-bit and 64-bit versions. Altova StyleVision renders and displays advanced reports in Microsoft Word 2007+ (OOXML) and .rtf formats, among others. Altova DiffDog includes a special comparison feature for Microsoft Word 2003 and later documents.
To display Microsoft Word documents in either StyleVision or DiffDog, the version of Microsoft Word displayed on its Help screen must match the version of the installed Altova tool. In other words, if you're using a 32-bit of Microsoft Word, you must use a 32-bit version of StyleVision or DiffDog. If you're using a 64-bit version of Word, you must use a 64-bit Altova tool.

ActiveX Interfaces

An ActiveX interface can integrate the user interface and functionality of an Altova application in your own application. If your application is a 32-bit application, you will need to install a 32-bit version of Altova software. For your 64-bit application, a 64-bit version of the Altova software is required.

COM Interfaces

COM interfaces automate the functionality of Altova applications through the API without user interface integration. By default, Windows will make a 32-bit COM visible to a 32-bit application and 64-bit COM to a 64 application. A mixed use is possible, but requires some additional work: if, for example, you have only installed a 64-bit version of Altova software and want to use it from your 32-bit application, you need to do the following:
connect to an application:
 
	CComPtr < IUnknown > ipApplication;
	HRESULT hRes;
	DWORD dwClsContext = CLSCTX_ALL;
	hRes = ::CoCreateInstance( m_clsidOfApplication, NULL, dwClsContext, IID_IUnknown, 
		(void **)&ipApplication.p );
	if ( !SUCCEEDED( hRes ) )
	{
#if defined( _WIN64 )
		dwClsContext |= CLSCTX_ACTIVATE_32_BIT_SERVER, 
#else // _WIN64
		dwClsContext |= CLSCTX_ACTIVATE_64_BIT_SERVER, 
#endif // _WIN64
		hRes = ::CoCreateInstance( m_clsidOfApplication, NULL, dwClsContext, IID_IUnknown, 
			(void **)&ipApplication.p );
	}
 
	if ( SUCCEEDED( hRes ) )
	{
		// some code
		...
	}
 
 	
 
open CLSID in correct view:
 	
	LONG OpenCLSID( LPCTSTR  strCLSID, REGSAM samDesired, hObjCLSIDKey )
	{
		HKEY hCLSIDKey;
		LONG rc = RegOpenKeyEx( HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT,_T("CLSID"), 0, samDesired, &hCLSIDKey );
		if ( rc == ERROR_SUCCESS )
		{
			LONG lRet = RegOpenKeyEx( hCLSIDKey, strCLSID, 0, samDesired, &hObjCLSIDKey );
			RegCloseKey(hCLSIDKey);
			if ( lRet != ERROR_SUCCESS && samDesired == KEY_READ )
			{
#if defined( _WIN64 )
				samDesired |= KEY_WOW64_32KEY;
#else // _WIN64
				samDesired |= KEY_WOW64_64KEY;
#endif // _WIN64
				// try other view
				rc = OpenCLSID( strCLSID, samDesired, hObjCLSIDKey );
			}
		}
		return rc;
	}

					
	...
	HKEY hObjCLSIDKey;
	if ( OpenCLSID( < a class id > , KEY_READ, hObjCLSIDKey ) == ERROR_SUCCESS )
	{
		// one can now open subkeys using this key as parent
		...
	}
Please note that when calling each other, Altova applications will try to call a corresponding version, but if the corresponding version is not found, the opposite one will be called when available. This means, for example, if you have installed a 64-bit version of MapForce and a 32-bit version of XMLSpy, they will be able to call each other in order to edit an XML Schema referenced in a MapForce mapping in XMLSpy, or to execute a MapForce transformation from within an XMLSpy project.
Customers Say

“I have learned that there is no substitute for quality tools. And truly, your MissionKit suite is a quality tool, easily the single best resource for enterprise development that I have ever encountered, and in itself a prime example of how software should be written. My sincere compliments on an excellent product.”

Thomas D. Blersch Senior Software Engineer, Exeter Government Services LLC