Select the menu item Tools | Options to define your project options.
The View tab allows you to define:
•Where the program logo should appear.
•The application title bar contents.
•The types of elements you want listed when using the "List elements not used in any diagram" context menu option in the Model Tree, or Favorites tab. You also have the option of ignoring elements contained in included files.
•If a selected element in a diagram is automatically selected/synchronized in the Model Tree.
•The default depth of the hierarchy view when using the Show graph view in the Hierarchy tab.
•The Autolayout Hierarchic settings, which allow you to define the nesting depth up and down in the hierarchy window.
•"Expand each element only once", only allows one of the same classifiers to be expanded in the same image/diagram.
•If you want snap lines to help you align elements when dragging in a diagram.
•If a new Diagram created in the Model Tree tab, is also automatically opened in the main area.
•Default visibility settings when adding new elements - Properties or Operations.
•The default code language when a new component is added.
•If a newly added constraint, is to automatically constrain its owner as well.
•If a prompt should appear when deleting elements from a project, from the Favorites tab or in any of the diagrams. This prompt can be deactivated when deleting items there; this option allows you to reset the "prompt on delete" dialog box.
•The delay with which the syntax error pop-up message should be closed.
The Diagram Editing tab allows you to define:
•The number of items that can be automatically added to a diagram, before a prompt appears.
•The display of Styles when they are automatically added to a diagram.
•If Associations between modeling elements, are to be created automatically when items are added to a diagram.
•If the associations to collections are to be resolved.
•If templates from unknown externals are to be resolved as not fully qualified.
•or use preexisting Collection Templates, or define new ones.
Collection Templates should be defined as fully qualified i.e. a.b.c.List. If the template has this namespace then UModel automatically creates a Collection Association. Exception: If the template belongs to the Unknown Externals package, and the option "Unknown externals: resolve unqualified", is enabled, then only the template name is considered (i.e. List instead of a.b.c.List).
•If the autocompletion window is to be available when editing attributes or operations in the class diagram.
•The actions performed when files are changed.
•If the contents of the Favorites tab are to be loaded and saved with the current project, as well as the any currently open diagrams.
•If the previously opened project is to automatically be opened when starting the application.
•If you want to structure the project file with CR/LF and tab indents in a pretty-print format.
•The circumstances under which the Message window will open.
•If all coding elements i.e. those contained in a Java / C# / VB namespace root, as well as those assigned to a Java / C# / VB component, are to be checked, or only elements used for code engineering, i.e. where "use for code engineering" check box is active, are to be checked.
•When updating program code if:
oIf a syntax check is to be performed.
oIf missing ComponentRealizations are to be automatically generated.
oIf missing code file names in the merged code are to be generated.
oIf namespaces are to be used in the code file path.
•The Indentation method used in the code, i.e. tabs or any number of spaces.
•The directories to be ignored when updating a UModel project from code, or directory. Separate the respective directories with a semicolon ";". Child directories of the same name are also ignored.
•The location of the XMLSpy Catalog File, RootCatalog.xml, which enables UModel as well as XMLSpy to retrieve commonly used schemas (as well as stylesheets and other files) from local user folders. This increases the overall processing speed, and enables users to work offline.
The Source Control tab allows you to define:
•The current source control plug-in using the combo box. The Advanced button allows you to define the specific settings of the source control plug-in that you selected. These settings change depending on the source control plug-in that you use.
•The login ID for the source control provider.
•Specific settings check in/out settings.
•The Reset button is made available if you have checked/activated the "Don't show this again" option in one of the dialog boxes. The Don't show this again prompt is then reenabled.
For information about the settings available in the Network Proxy tab, see Network Proxy Settings.