Basically, the synchronization options are defined for the directories as a whole. You can, however, change the synchronization actions for one or more individual files or sub-directories manually if the Enable manual override of synchronization actions check box is activated.
If you apply a delete action to a sub-directory, also all files that are contained in this directory will be deleted on the chosen side. Since equal files are not displayed in the Synchronize directories dialog, DiffDog displays a warning so as to alert you to this fact.
To define synchronization actions manually for individual files:
1.Make sure that the Enable manual override of synchronization actions check box is activated.
2.Optionally, change the default synchronization option for the directories in the Different files and Missing files/directories group boxes.
3.To change the pre-selected synchronization action for a particular file, click the drop-down list in the Sync Action column between the two directory panes and select one of the following options:
•<blank>: No synchronization for this file.
•copy >: The file will be copied from the left side to the right side without considering which file is newer.
•< copy: The file will be copied from the right side to the left side without considering which file is newer.
•delete >: The file will be deleted on the right side.
•< delete: The file will be deleted on the left side.
•< delete >: The file will be deleted on both sides.
4.If you choose to delete a sub-directory, click OK in the warning message informing you that also equal files will be deleted.
A message pops up informing you that manual changes will not be considered when changing the synchronization options.
5.Click OK. The synchronization action is indicated with a different background color. If you later on change the overall settings for the directories and the settings happen to match the manually changed action, the background color will be removed again.
To reset manual synchronization actions:
1.Do one of the following:
•Click the Reset all button.
•Deactivate the Enable manual override of synchronization actions check box.
2.Click OK in the message box that appears.