Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Altova Authentic 2021 Desktop

The File section defines the way Authentic Desktop opens and saves documents. Related settings are in the Encoding section.

 

Automatic backup

Files that you are currently editing will be automatically backed up if this option is enabled. You can select a backup frequency from between 5 seconds to 60 seconds in the combo box or enter a custom value up to 300 seconds. For more information, see the section Automatic Backup of Files.

 

Automatic reload of changed files

If you are working in a multi-user environment, or if you are working on files that are dynamically generated on a server, you can watch for changes to files that are currently open in the interface. Each time Authentic Desktop detects a change in an open document, it will prompt you about whether you want to reload the changed file.

 

Automatic Validation

If you are using DTDs or XML Schemas to define the structure of your XML documents, you can automatically validate your instance documents in the following situations:

 

On opening the file if the file has a size below a size you specify in MB

On saving the file

While editing the file.

 

If the document is not valid, an error message will be displayed. If it is valid, no message will be displayed and the operation will proceed without any notification.

 

Project

When you start Authentic Desktop, you can open the last-used project automatically.

 

Save File

When saving an XML document, Authentic Desktop includes a short comment <!-- Edited with Authentic Desktop http://www.altova.com --> near the top of the file. This option can only be deactivated by licensed users, and takes effect when editing or saving files in the Enhanced Grid or Schema Design View.

 

If a StyleVision Power Stylesheet is associated with an XML file, the 'Authentic: save link to design file' option will cause the link to the StyleVision Power Stylesheet to be saved with the XML file.

 

Line breaks

When you open a file, the character coding for line breaks in it are preserved if Preserve old is selected. Alternatively, you can choose to code line breaks in any of three codings: CR&LF (for PC), CR (for MacOS), or LF (for Unix).

 

Save and exit

After making the settings, click OK to finish.

 

© 2015-2021 Altova GmbH